About Serve Alabama

ServeAlabama is a state agency under the office of the Governor of Alabama.

Serve Alabama, The Governor’s Office of Faith-Based and Volunteer Service works to increase an ethic of service and volunteerism in the State of Alabama, strengthen the capacity of Alabama’s faith and community-based organizations, and promote collaboration among individuals and organizations striving to meet some of the greatest needs in our state.

We Serve Alabama in the following ways: 

We serve as the Alabama State Service Commission, granting and administering (10) State AmeriCorps Programs across Alabama.

We are the state’s lead agency for Volunteer and Donations Management after disasters. Our work in this role includes response to Hurricanes Ivan and Katrina, Deepwater Horizion Spill and the April 2011 tornadoes.

We serve as a liasion to the state for faith-based and community-based non-profit groups.

We administer FEMA’s Disaster Case Management Program for survivors of the April 2011 storms.

We administer the Governor’s Emergency Relief Fund.

We administer ReadyAlabama.gov, Alabama’s statewide disaster preparedness campaign.

Our role is to serve the people of Alabama and carry out the goals and objectives of the Governor’s Office of Faith-Based and Volunteer Service through partnerships, integrity, and a sense of community. Our office members are as follows:

Jon Mason, Director

Email: jon.mason@servealabama.gov

Lisa Castaldo, Deputy Director

Email: lisa.castaldo@servealabama.gov

LaChasta White, Executive Assistant/Office Manager

Email: lachasta.white@sevealabama.gov

Christine Williams, Senior AmeriCorps Program Director

Email:  christine.williams@servealabama.gov

Cesily Means, State Service Officer/AmeriCorps Program Officer

Email:  cesily.means@servealabama.gov

Brooke Mills, Disaster Preparedness and Response Director

Email:  brooke.mills@servealabama.gov

Teresa Lien, Disaster Preparedness and Response Coordinator

Email:  teresa.lien@servealabama.gov

Ronica Faire, Senior Accountant

Email:  ronica.faire@servealabama.gov

Ann Dillard, Accounting Assistant

Email:  ann.dillard@servealabama.gov